Darby Allin Feels AEW TNT Title Has ‘Lost All Its Value’

Darby Allin is synonymous with the AEW TNT Championship, becoming one of the belt’s earliest holders after dethroning Cody Rhodes at AEW Full Gear 2020. Allin’s first reign became the longest in the title’s history at 186 days, a record Darby still maintains over two years later. His second reign earlier this year was less impressive by comparison, holding the title for just 28 days before losing it to Samoa Joe.

Allin is hoping to capture the belt for a third time at All Out on September 2nd. The 30-year-old earned a shot at the title last month on AEW Rampage when he won the 20-Man Royal Rampage match by last eliminating Swerve Strickland via a tope through the middle rope onto the floor. This is currently the only match official for All Out.

During a recent edition of the AEW Control Center, Allin cut a promo ahead of the bout that was highly critical of how the belt has been handled over the last year – particularly with how many times it’s changed hands: “I’m gonna be honest when I say this,” Darby started. “To me, the TNT Championship used to mean something and within the last year, I’ve felt like it’s lost all its value.

I remember the people who used to hold it. Guys like Cody, guys like Brodie Lee, myself. Back then, it meant something. Now it’s like a hot potato. Honestly, I feel like it’s lost its value. So when I say at All Out, I want to put some respect back on that championship’s name, I mean every word of that.

Because you’ve got a guy like Christian Cage, for example, walking around saying he’s the champion and like, come on. We’re not stupid. You’re wasting people’s time. That championship means more than that. And then you’ve got a dinosaur as the champion that never defends it? What are we doing here?”

The current TNT Champion is Luchasaurus, who won the title on the debut edition of AEW Collision from Wardlow. Since the start of 2023, the title has changed hands seven times which is the same amount of holders the belt went through in 2022 and almost double the amount in all of 2021 – when only Darby Allin, Miro, Sammy Guevara and Cody Rhodes held the belt.

If you use any quotes from this article, please give a h/t to Haus of Wrestling.