AEW Continental Classic Competitors & Leagues Confirmed

AEW released Tony Khan’s AEW Continental Classic Special on their YouTube channel earlier today. In it, the AEW President announced the impending tournament’s competitors and the “leagues” they will be competing in. The tournament is set to begin on tonight’s episode of AEW Dynamite and continue through the end of next month at AEW Worlds End.

The round-robin style tournament will feature two six-man leagues, with the men in each league competing against each other for points. Three points will be awarded for a win, one for a draw, and zero for a loss. Each match will have a twenty-minute time limit; no managers or other secondary people will be allowed at ringside.

The wrestlers from each block with the most points come Worlds End will compete against each other in hopes of becoming the inaugural AEW Continental Champion. Eddie Kingston will compete in the tournament and put his ROH World and NJPW Strong Championships on the line in each of his tournament matches.

Whichever wrestler walks away the victor in the tournament will become an automatic AEW Triple Crown Champion. The titles will be defended collectively in AEW, ROH, and NJPW Strong. Whoever holds the Triple Crown Championship next year will automatically be entered into the AEW Continental Championship. The tournament matches will continue to play out on Dynamite, Collision, and Rampage heading into next month’s Worlds End, where the “Championship Final” will occur.

Here are the two leagues and the AEW wrestlers competing in them.

Gold League

  • Mark Briscoe
  • Jon Moxley
  • Swerve Strickland
  • Rush
  • Jay Lethal
  • Jay White

Blue League

  • Andrade El Idolo
  • Bryan Danielson
  • Eddie Kingston
  • Brody King
  • Claudio Castagnoli
  • Daniel Garcia

Opening Gold League tournament matches have been announced for tonight’s AEW Dynamite. Including Jon Moxley vs Mark Briscoe, Rush vs Jay White, and Swerve Strickland vs Jay Lethal. Two Blue League tournament matches will be held this Saturday night on AEW Collision: Eddie Kingston vs Brody King and Daniel Garcia vs Claudio Castagnoli.